A selection of UN TV programmes, webcasts and video clips on issues in the news

Sunday, 26 June 2011

Millennium Development Goals

The Goals

MDG Monitor

Goal 1 - Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger

Goal 2 - Achieve universal primary education

 Goal 3 - Promote gender equality and empower women

Goal 4 - Reduce child mortality

Goal 5 - Improve maternal health

Goal 6 - Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases 

Goal 7 - Ensure environmental sustainability

Goal 8 - Develop a global partnership for development

Millennium Development Goals

The eight Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) evolved from the Millennium Summit in 2000.
Leaders and Heads of State of 189 countries met in New York in September 2000 at the United Nations Millennium Summit to discuss the major problems affecting the developing world.
From the Summit came the Millennium Declaration, and a year later a series of eight Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) was issued with the overarching aim of reducing poverty by half by 2015.
Targets and indicators

No comments:

Post a Comment